On MLB Monday, it’s time for our second look at the 1925 season. We’re still 30 years away from the first official World Series MVP Award, but that isn’t stopping us from naming our own in the prior seasons, of course. Managers of the Year? Even further into the future than the WS MVP stuff, so hang on for another ride down baseball’s Memory Lane … Enjoy!

1925 World Series MVP: Max Carey, CF, Pittsburgh

The Pittsburgh Pirates won their second championship and first since 1909 with a seven-game victory over the Washington Senators, the defending champs. The Sens went up 3-1 in the Fall Classic, and then the Pirates won the next three games by a combined six runs to secure the World Series title. Pittsburgh beat both Stan Coveleski and Walter Johnson in those last three games to claim the championship. That’s impressive!

So, who is the MVP? Four hitters stand out: Pirates center fielder Max Casey (.458 BA, 1.177 OPS, 3 SBs), Pittsburgh third baseman Pie Traynor (.346 BA, 1.029 OPS, 4 RBI), Washington utility man Joe Harris (.440 BA, 1.380 OPS, 3 HRs, 6 RBI), and Senators left fielder Goose Goslin (.308 BA, 1.072 OPS, 3 HRs, 6 RBI)—our pick for last year’s WS MVP. These players are all so worthy, so we have to look at Game 7 itself to decide who came through at the end when it mattered most.

And that’s Carey, who had four hits, including three doubles off Johnson. Overall, he had 11 hits in the Series, including 4 doubles, but with 3 runs scored in the decisive Game 7 as well, his play was decisive. That’s an MVP effort, for sure.

1925 AL MOTY: Bucky Harris, Washington

The Senators won the AL pennant by 8.5 games over the Philadelphia Athletics, and Washington Manager Bucky Harris posted a plus-6 PPP mark, tied for the best in the league. His adversary in Philadelphia, Connie Mack, managed just a plus-1 PPP result, so Harris takes home this hardware from us, easily. It’s his first award here in this space.

1925 NL MOTY: Bill McKechnie, Pittsburgh

The Pirates also won their pennant race by 8.5 games, over the New York Giants—winners of the last four straight NL flags. Pittsburgh Manager Bill McKechnie only posted a plus-2 PPP mark, but it was enough to hold off John McGraw (plus- 7 PPP). If the Giants had finished closer, we’d consider McGraw for this award, but his team was eliminated with well more than a week left, and that’s not really much of a “race” in the grand scheme of things. McKechnie wins this award for not screwing up his team.